Election 2015: Davidson board re-elected; Mayor Swain unseated in Huntersville

I votedDavidson’s leadership will remain unchanged for two more years, as voters re-elected all five incumbent commissioners and Mayor John Woods was unopposed in Tuesday’s local election.  In Huntersville, challenger John Aneralla easily unseated four-term Mayor Jill Swain after an unusually combative election campaign.  Voters there also added three new members to the six-member Town Board, unseating incumbents Sarah McAulay and Jeff Neely.

Voters also rejected a proposal to extend County Commission terms to 4 years, from two.

Full local election results are on the NC State Board of Elections website, http://enr.ncsbe.gov/


Mayor John Woods won another term, after running unopposed. There were 127 write-in votes, up from 86 two years ago, when the turnout was higher.

In the commissioner race, all five incumbents were re-elected. Here’s the unofficial tally from the Meck Board of Elections:



In Cornelius, Mayor Chuck Travis will be back for another term, as he was unopposed.

In the Town Board race, all four incumbents running were re-elected. Current mayor pro tem Woody Washam was the top vote getter among commissioners, as he was two years ago.

The board gets one new member, physician Michael Miltich, who won election in his second try. He fills the spot left vacant by Bruce Trimbur, who did not seek re-election.

Here’s the unofficial tally in Cornelius:



John Aneralla and Jill Swain
John Aneralla and Jill Swain

John Aneralla won Huntersville’s mayor race, capturing 59.5 percent of the vote, to incumbent Jill Swain’s 40.3 percent.

Swain had escaped with a victory two years ago, barely beating challenger Jim Puckett, now a Mecklenburg County commissioner.  She spent little on her campaign, instead urging supporters to make donations to local nonprofits. The campaign was a vicious one: Swain was the target of negative advertisements and Facebook attacks.

In a message to supporters on Facebook Tuesday night, Swain said:

In the grand scheme of things, my campaign was able to donate thousands of dollars to our local non profits, I have stellar people who’ve had my back, I never said a bad word or campaigned negatively and I have worked to bring people together. I am richer for the experience you all have given me and I can honestly say I am blessed. You don’t have to be mayor to have a full heart and do good things. Thank you all. Keep your eyes on what happens next.

Mayor-elect Aneralla is a longtime Republican activist and former Mecklenburg County GOP chair. In 2012, he ran unsuccessfully for the state Senate seat now held by Jeff Tarte. He has been active in the Kiwanis Club and attends Davidson United Methodist Church. He has had a long career in the financial industry, and campaigned on a pledge of lower taxes. He also has opposed the NC Department of Transportation’s plan for widening I-77 with toll lanes from Charlotte north to Mooresville.

In the race for Huntersville’s six-member board, Danny Phillips was the top vote-getter, and incumbents Rob Kidwell and Melinda Bales were re-elected. Voters also picked three challengers: Mark Gibbons, Dan Boon and Charles Guignard. Guignard is not exactly a new face – he was voted out two years ago, but now will return to the board.

That result means that incumbents Sarah McAulay and Jeff Neely won’t be back.

Also Tuesday, voters overwhelmingly opposed the idea of increasing the terms of Mecklenburg County Commissioners from two years to four years.  The vote was about 66 percent against the change, 34 percent in favor.
The CMS school board will have one new member.  Elyse Dashew will join incumbents Ericka Ellis-Stewart and Mary McCray on the board as an at-large member.   See WFAE.org, “Dashew Joins Incumbents Ellis-Stewart, McCray On CMS Board”
Full local election results are on the NC State Board of Elections website, http://enr.ncsbe.gov/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s